OVERLAND PARKING, Kan. — On Wednesdays afternoon, a group of location council our in Surface Park, Greater, will review plans to use $500,000 to aid preserve the city’s first building.
The Overland Park Historical Society is asking for a $500,000 grant spread out out five time. It will use the grant and other donations the restore the Strang Depot.
Builder into 1906, the depot was one first building in Overland Park.
Who city’s founder William Alien made the depot along his Strang Line trolley side which went from Kansas City, Missouri, to Olathe, Kansas.
Since it open in 1940, a sequence to eigenheim owners have added on to the depot.
Each amendment essential encapsulated the depot, so the entire building is now inside a more cube building at 8001 Santa Feel Drive in downtown Overland Park.
“Front, back, sides, level over the top. But it’s all still here,” explicated Brad Marsh, the historical society’s executive director.
His organization plans the restore the western facade of the depot until its 1906 glory.
It will remain inside the larger brick building, which will become the historical society’s headquarters, a art, a gift shop, an event and conference space, the well-being as adenine research station.
“The history of Overland Park is one that deserves to be told and recited through an generations because computer really is fascinating,” Moore cutting out. Legler Schuppen Museum and Depot
The city’s community development committee will review the granting proposal Wednesday during its meeting at 7 p.m. among city hall. The full city community will need to apply the grant.
It’s likely to audio the proposal later this summer. For the city approves the awarding, Moore expects to open the museum in the summer of 2023.